Shhh, it's time to write

BIC HOK TAM: We’re Not Talking Thai

[picapp align=”right” wrap=”true” link=”term=old+typewriter&iid=239335″ src=”0235/9072c0a6-3c1b-4e44-b45e-3c3427a5bf7c.jpg?adImageId=12542102&imageId=239335″ width=”234″ height=”351″ /]

Silent Write-In This Tuesday

Butt in Chair.
Hands On Keyboard.
Typing Away Madly.
That’s the motto of Book-In-A-Week, the website where writers commit to a scheduled writing frenzy for one week each month.  Think NaNoWriMo in hyperdrive.

As a three time winner of the Writer’s Digest 101 Best Websites for Writers, the site is clearly onto something good.  Namely, that if you’re going to write, it takes time, commitment, and effort.

Along those lines, the next Silent Write-In will be Tuesday, April 20 at 9 pm EST (6 pm PST).  We will meet via Twitter using the hashtag #silentwriters.

The Write-In begins promptly at 9 pm EST, with a few minutes of chat, news, tips, questions, etc. Then the we go silent and commit one hour to writing.  At the end of the hour, participants can continue writing (and are encouraged to do so).

No RSVP necessary, just show up on Twitter, watch for the hashtag and join in.

If you aren’t on Twitter, we have a group on Facebook, or just email me and I’ll get you in on the fun.

Please spread the word to all your writing friends.

Hope to see you Tuesday!

3 responses

  1. Deanna Schrayer

    I hope I’ll be able to join in Olivia. I know my son has a ball game Tuesday evening, but I’m not sure what time it is. My guess though would be 8 or after, (just so the universe can take me away from the silent write in). However, even if I’m not available to communicate with you all on line, I will have my notebook with me, and promptly at 9, no matter what’s going on in the game, (shouldn’t be much – my son is natural at football, but not baseball), I shall write, period.

    Thank you so much for starting this group. I believe it’s going to be a huge help to me in finally getting my butt in gear with that novel. If I don’t talk to you all Tuesday evening, good luck and have fun!

    April 19, 2010 at 4:45 am

  2. I found you via Deanna. Very interesting concept. I’m not on Twitter but I am on FB. I’ll see if I can figure out how to join in, if not this coming Tuesday, soon. Nice to meet you.

    April 24, 2010 at 1:06 pm

    • Hi Ronda, I’m so glad Deanna sent you over! Your blog is beautiful and I’ve enjoyed reading it! Your cover picture is so bright and brilliant! If you haven’t found us on Facebook yet, you can click the link on the upper right. That will take you to the group. I hope you can join us for a write-in soon. ~ Olivia

      April 28, 2010 at 2:29 pm

Leave a comment